Running Recap (Nov 4th – 9th)

So far, this week has been good. My moods have been great and I’ve felt good during my runs. Yesterday I couldn’t exercise because the day was crazy so I did a double round today. I think I’m going to be a bit sore tomorrow. haha Not a bad thing though.

I’m scheduled to run 12 miles on Saturday but I’m really doubting I’ll be able to pull it off. I’m really hoping to do the full 12 but I’m learning to not freak out if I can’t make a full run. I’ll do the best I can and push myself hard and see what happens. I always get very nervous when I run a new distance. It almost always goes great yet I find myself sick to my stomach until I start running.

I hope to run outside this Saturday but if my stomach doesn’t calm down I’ll be running on the treadmill. The treadmill is not the greatest for long runs, (super long and boring,) but I may not have a choice. My 4 mile run today needed two pit stops. Thank God I was on the treadmill today. lol It’s way to cold to poo in the woods right now. plus I run the chance of hunters seeing me. Oh that would be hilarious

….EEKKKK! I did it! 12 miles baby! I hurt like a @(&$#^(@&$*%(#&%)! but who cares. It was a cold long 3 hours. I still can’t wrap my brain around the fact that I just ran for 3 hours. That’s crazy! I ran the first 9 miles outside in the snow. It snowed the whole time and I had to stop several times to clear off my glasses so I could see where I was going. I also had to walk and stretch my hip whenever it felt like it was getting tight, and that seemed to do the trick. After my last long run I wasn’t sure how my hip was going to do and was afraid my run would get cut short again because of the pain.

By the time I was about 3 miles from the house I was soaked. My socks and shoes were soaked and my top layer of clothes were matted with snow. At that point I decided to finish my run at home. Once home I took a quick bathroom brake and changed clothes and jumped crawled onto the treadmill. With only 3 miles to go I was ready to quit. I was sore all over and being home made it so hard to finish. By the end of the run I was moaning things like, “my legs don’t hurt, I feel great,” and “this is awesome, I love feeling so strong.” haha Crap talk to keep me going, but it worked.

Total time was 3 hours and 2 mins. Pretty good time sense the last 3 miles were really slowed down due to the treadmill. (Running outside is much faster.) My goal is to run the half in under 3 hours and I think I can pull it off.

For now I will enjoy the fact that I ran 12 miles for the first time ever and enjoy the tapering for the next 3 weeks.

What kind of things to do tell yourself to get through those last few miles?

Here is how the week has gone.

Monday: 30 min walk, abs, and arms

Tuesday: 5 mile run, abs, legs, and stretching

Wednesday: none

Thursday: 4 mile run, double abs, arms, and legs

Friday: 30 min walk, abs, arms, and stretching

Saturday: 12 miles and stretching

Sunday: Rest

One thought on “Running Recap (Nov 4th – 9th)

  1. “It’s way to cold to poo in the woods right now. plus I run the chance of hunters seeing me.”
    hahahah! I love that. Hope you were wearing bright colors 🙂 I’ve had to make a few pit stops on the road before and I always wonder when I’m going to get caught some day. And it is definitely quite cold now to be making pit stops outside! When I was running last winter with my preggo belly, I had to pee ALL THE TIME. I was able to hang in there when the weather was really cold outside and wait til I got home… but maybe that wasn’t smart… that could be how I got a UTI. duurrr.

    Great job on your week!!! To get through tough stretches in a long run, I think of snuggling up in a warm bed with my family, food, coffee, … not running, etc 🙂

Leave a Reply

