Running Recap (Oct 1st-12th) And My First Bonk

Sorry I’ve been gone the past couple weeks. I just haven’t been in a writing mood. Sometimes it feels like it takes everything I have to just catch my breath. Life hasn’t been all that busy but I’ve been tired and feeling run down. We have been fighting a cold so I’m sure that’s part of it.

Running has been going pretty good. This month, so far, I have stuck to my running schedule which has made me happy. Slowing down to three days a week has really helped my knee. It seems running between four and five miles is what triggers my knee pain. However, it’s not taking as long for it to feel better. Yea! I’ve ran a five and six miler this month and my knee handled it pretty well. Instead of the pain lasting a few days to a week it’s down to less than 24 hours.  I have my second ever 8 miler tomorrow so we’ll see how that goes.

…8 miles done. Wow was it long…and painful, haha. The first 5 miles were really nice and pretty easy, but the last 3 were like a death march. I was running on my treadmill which is always harder than running outside, plus I ran without any sugars in me to keep me going. (This new diet is going to make my training very interesting.)

Anyway, after my run all seemed fine until I walked into the living room, then my legs became jello and I almost fell on the floor. My legs had no strength to carry me. It was the weirdest feeling to have my mind telling me to walk to the couch and my legs not letting me. All I could do was half stand while my legs wobbled until I crawled to the couch. Needless to saw, I didn’t get a shower last night. I laid on the couch for a couple hours and then went  to bed.

I have never “hit the wall” or “bonked” before so this was a first for me. Kinda cool 🙂

Have you ever “hit the wall” or “bonked” before? How many miles did you run to get to that point?

Tuesday: 4 miles

Wednesday: Strength

Thursday: 3 miles and strength

Friday: rest

Saturday: 6 miles

Sunday: rest

Monday: depressed and didn’t exercise

Tuesday: 5 miles

Wednesday: Strength

Thursday: 3 miles

Friday: Strength

Saturday: 8 miles

Total miles for the two weeks: 29 miles

4 thoughts on “Running Recap (Oct 1st-12th) And My First Bonk

  1. Sorry to hear you bonked so hard – have you looked into any less sugary fueling options! Here’s a good post I’ve found about fueling: http://skinnyrunner.com/2013/05/14/how-to-fuel-for-a-marathon-without-gels/

    I know dried fruit is still sugary, but that would be a slightly healthier option to prevent bonking. I’m not sure if I’ve ever officially bonked before, but I’ve felt as though I’ve hit walls before 🙂 In the last race, at mile 20 I definitely hit a mental wall. Personally, sugar/caffeine helps me jump the walls when they arrive, but that usually would mean taking a GU. They aren’t for everyone, but I’m learning they’re the best marathon fueling for me :s

  2. The dried fruit I’ve looked at has added sugars 😦 I’ll have to try some fresh fruits to snack on for my longer runs and see if that helps. Eating and running is hard but I can’t do the GU or beans right now. I can’t wait to be able to have them again. I also need to figure out at what point to fuel because I can’t tell when I’m running. I’ve heard of needing something like 100 cals for ever ??? cals burned. IDK I guess I’ll have to look into that now.

    • I’m not sure how many calories you need to replace per calories burned while running; because everyone’s body is so different, it’s hard to estimate. For a 20 mile run, I’ll usually eat two or three GU gels which are 100 calories each.

      Maybe you could eat pitted dates on runs? Again, they have sugar, but they’ve been okay G.I.-wise for me.

  3. Pingback: Running Recap (Oct 28th – Nov 2nd) and My First Long Mile Run I Couldn’t Finish | My Favorite Things

Leave a Reply

