Running Recap (July 8-13th)

This week has been worse than the last. Monday my run went well, Tuesday, I rolled my ankle. I knew I was going to have to take an extra day or so off for my ankle to heal but not a week or more. Wednesday my low back started hurting, like a pinched nerve kind of hurt.

I made an appointment for the following day but by then I could hardly walk. It was horrible. I couldn’t straighten up at all and I’d get random sharp stabbing pains in my back and down my left leg. I even went into Urgent Care to see if there was anything else going on and to get some pain meds. Dr. thinks it was just from rolling my ankle and that torked my low back. No running for a week or two, depending on the pain I have.

The good news, the pain is gone. The bad news, after taking so many days off I don’t want to run. This happens to me any time I take several days off in a row. I get lazy. Getting up at 5am is NOT my cup of tea…at all! I long for the cooler days when I can run anytime of the day that I feel like, not be forced to run in a short time frame in the early morning. It kinda makes me crabby.

My plan is to get up early tomorrow and go for a 3 mile walk/run and see if I have any pain once I actually am active. I’ll cut it short if any pain comes back at all. I’m not going to risk my whole training. However, I feel so behind in my training that I feel like I won’t be ready for my half in September. I already had to slow down from my shin splint and now this. I’m behind by about 3/4 weeks and this really stresses me out.

At this point I was suppose to be adding a mile on every week. My blank and white personality wants to say F-it. You already screwed up so you’re done. I don’t know how I can be ready in time now. I’m very overwhelmed by this and don’t know how to make it work. I want to quit, but I don’t. I really hate this feeling.

Maybe I’m just moody. I don’t know. The hot weather really pisses me off. We have no AC so the house is in the 80s ALL. DAY. LONG…and it doesn’t cool off much over night. Also, I just got up to get something and the pain is back in my back. So much for my “good news.” GRRR!

So, to my running buddies, how do I get back on track with my training once I can start running again? I’m not sure if I’ll be able to ease back in this week or have to take the week off at this point.

 

One thought on “Running Recap (July 8-13th)

  1. Don’t give up! This is just a minor setback and you have not “screwed up”. Give your body the time it needs to heal and ease back into running again when it feels right. Could you bike for crosstraining? Light yoga could be a great help, too. Less impact may help your ankle to heal. Be patient, though I know it’s much easier said than done!

Leave a Reply

