Running Recap (July 1-6th)

This week has been tough. The heat has really challenged me and I don’t like it. Monday I ran in the afternoon and I shouldn’t have tried. I’m glad I tried but I shouldn’t have. lol I over heated and had to send one of the kids to get Dean to pick me up. Thank God a couple of the kids went with me. By the time Dean got to me I could hardly open my eyes, I was confused , and I felt like I was on fire. I learned. For that I’m glad I ran in the heat, but I won’t do it again.

For the next few weeks I’ll be taking Wednesdays off. This bugs me…a lot. I think three days off is to much, but right now my legs can’t take it 5 days of running. Dean pointed out that my form was off and I’ve been working on correcting that. However, this has made my legs hurt more. It’s going to take time for the muscles to adjust to the change. It’s not a big change, but it’s working my muscles differently so other parts of my legs now get sore from running. Also, I’ve been fighting a shin splint. *Boo* Hopefully I’ll be better by the end of the month.

On a happy note, I cut 2.30 minutes off my 3 mile time. A purk of having good form, you run faster. My last 3 mile run was 37.24. I want to get down to 30 to 35 minutes. Not stressing it, I know it will happen.

Thursday was tough. I’ve been in denial about having a shin splint and it got the best of me that morning. I know what I need to do to fix it but I really don’t want to. For the next couple weeks I won’t be running more than 3 miles. I’m praying that with stretching, extra days of rest, and cutting back on the miles will make things right soon.

This has not been a good week for me. I’ve been tired and grumpy most of the week and haven’t wanted to do anything. Praying next week is better.

 

Monday: 2 miles walk/run

Tuesday: 3 miles plus 1 mile for warm up/cool down

Wednesday: Rest

Thursday: 3 miles walk/run

Friday: Rest

Saturday: Raining and lazy, didn’t run

Total miles: 9

Leave a Reply

