Running Recap (June 24-29th)

This week I feel like I pushed myself pretty hard and my body is telling me too. Tuesday I think I got heat exhaustion while running, or at least the start of it.

Right from the beginning I felt off. Tired and sluggish but I figured it would go away  a mile or two down the road. Well, it didn’t. My leg hurt and I couldn’t run through the pain like I normally can. I turned around to head home after a mile. A half mile from home I started sweating really bad and got the chills like when you have a high fever. I was so happy to be home. My whole body hurt and I was so tired I thought I was going to collapse.

I got some cold water and Gatorade in me and then took a shower which helped a lot, but I was still sluggish all day. I took Wednesday off and then finished the week strong.

I finished so strong I chaffed a hole in my leg. Yep, first experience with chaffing. Soooo not fun. But let me tell you, I feel like a bad ass runner. lol I didn’t just have the rug burn looking chaffing, I actually have a hole in my thigh. So this morning I slapped on a Band-Aid and ran though the pain. I am willing to run through most pain. There are some pains you just know you shouldn’t run through, like over heating or certain leg pains, but everything else I’ll muscle through.

After my first round of unpleasant skin loss, I looked into new running shorts. Something longer that won’t ride up and won’t move…at all. Hopefully I’ll be able to order them today. I can’t wait!

Here is how my week looked:

Monday: My first 5 mile run! Took just over an hour. 62 minutes…I think

Tuesday: 2 1/2 miles…ish

Wednesday: Rest

Thursday: 3 miles

Friday: 5 miles

Total: 15 1/2 miles

Leave a Reply

