Finally Running

I finally get to write about running! It’s been a month since I started running and I gotta say, I feel great. At least as far as running goes. I have taken a 9 week program and completed it in 4 1/2 weeks. I build endurance quickly and I wanted to see how fast I could get back to a 5K. My next run will get to 3.2 miles. yea!

Knowing Dean and I are not planning another child for a couple more years, I’m going to be really focusing on my running. The last couple times I started running I’d get pregnant and have to stop. Before I had Lizzeth I was up to 6 miles.

My summer goal is to run a 1/2 marathon by September 14th. It’s on the calendar and I’ve told  family and friends so it has to happen. The miles stones with my training are as followed.

5K – 3.2 miles

8K – 4.97 miles

10K – 6.2 miles

12K – 7.456 miles

15K – 9.3 miles

1/2 marathon – 13.1 miles!

Some long-term goals are a 30K – 18.6 miles, a full marathon – 26.2 miles, and then a 50K – ultra-marathon – 31.1 miles. Crazy, maybe, but I’m ok with that.

I’m taking it one week at a time and not beating myself up if I can’t get in all my running days. I’m working on getting up to running 5 to 6 days a week. Right now I’m running 3 to 5 days a week.

It’s nice to have something to focus on other than our life crumbling down around us. That is still happening. In fact, things have taken another turn for the worst, but somehow we are smiling through it a little better than in the past.

I love running. I never thought I would but a few years ago I got into it and fell in love. I do my best thinking when I on the road. No kids, no one saying “mom” every 30 seconds, just me and the gravel. I get to spend time with the Lord and not have to worry about anything for an hour. It’s wonderful.

Well, that’s all I have for now. I hope everyone is having a good week.

One thought on “Finally Running

Leave a Reply

