Pregnancy: Week 41, Belly Pic, and Our Christmas

 

41 weeks

41 weeks

Well, I’m a week “over due.” To put it plainly, I’m cranky. I’m depressed. ~sigh~ I’ve never been “late” before so this has been a whole different level of frustration. The waiting game at the end of any pregnancy is hard, but once you go over that magical “due date” it’s like you mentally check out, or freak out. ~sigh~ It has been a challenge to stay positive and be in a good mood. I have to remind myself daily why I am going this route (homebirth) and not just rushing to the hospital for that lovely pitocin induced jump-start.

However, knowing what I know now, I do not believe you should go get induced based on YOUR discomfort. You have no idea how forcing your body to do something it’s not ready to do can potentially hurt your child. You are pumping your body full of chemicals that your body isn’t suppose to have or your baby. All because you are temporarily uncomfortable? I believe that is all part of our curse as women with the fall of Adam and Eve. Yes, it’s going to be hard, it’s going to hurt, it’s going to be uncomfortable, but God is in control. He has designed our bodies so meticulously to hand all of this. We need to lean on Him not medical procedures when you are having a healthy pregnancy. I’m not saying there isn’t a medical need at all or that we shouldn’t get medical help if it’s needed, but so often we run to what is easiest not what’s safest.

I have gone this route, this is why I say what I say. I’ve been there!  I’m so thankful that we are now using a midwife and having a home birth. These are some truths I have to keep telling myself in my discomfort…

THIS is saver.

THIS is natural.

THIS will not put me or baby in danger from all the interventions that would happen if I did go in.

I will get to be in the comfort of my own home, with people I know, love, and trust. Not random nurses checking me every hour to see if I’m progressing “fast enough.”

I will not be strung to a bunch of wires, only allowed to lay in bed or walk the stinky halls in a nightgown feeling like my butt is showing to everyone.

I will not be racing the clock to have the baby on the Dr’s schedule, or be told something is “wrong” because baby is not coming fast enough. Back in the day, women could labor for days and have a healthy baby. If your labor goes over 12 hours that does NOT mean your baby is about to die. Promise!

Hospitals are for sick people. If you and baby are not sick, why be there?

THIS is in GOD’S timing, NOT mine, because HE knows best NOT me.

Disclaimer: I understand this can be a very controversal topic. After over 3 years of research, yes 3 years, and 8 not so pleasant hospital experiences, we feel this is what is best for us.  These are OUR beliefs and you have the right to disagree with us. However, if you leave a comment, do so with respect.

Now, stepping off my soap box…

…Yesterday was Christmas. We kept it very simple. Not knowing when baby will be here we didn’t want to invite tons of people over and put pressure of hosting on us to the point I’d breakdown and cry. It was a very relaxing time. For a household of 10 that’s pretty stinking good! There was little fighting over the new toys, very little fighting at all really. My mom, sister, niece, and her daughter came over. We kept the menu simple which came in great when I started having contractions and what I think was some back labor. They were able to take over while I felt lazy and unproductive not being able to walk from the pain in my low back.

The atmosphere was calm for the most part and over all was a great day. This was the first year we didn’t have an over abundance of food but we did have way to much candy around. I don’t stress that too much as we really limit the kids junk food intake in between holidays. Infact, I’ve gotten weird looks from other parents on occasion when I tell me kids no, or greatly limit their intake to sweets when everyone else is pigging out. Yep, I’m mean like that 🙂

This year we have been blessed, again! Being in a season of hardship for what seems like forever, we have been blessed over and over and over. This month we were blessed with gifts for Christmas, a fixed van, and money to empty the septic, (long overdue!) With going into a time of Dean’s hours being cut, we have seeing God pave our path and the reassurance that God will provide all of our needs. Thank you all who have been a part of this blessed time!

Well, I think that’s all I got rattling around in this old head of mine for now. For the rest of the day we plan to simply hang out, enjoy leftovers, play games, and rest. I hope everyone has been blessed this Christmas and the rest of your week in wonderful!

Leave a Reply

