Hoe Cakes And Whiny Kids

I got up on time this morning for the first time in weeks. It felt great to be up before the kids, make breakfast, and spend time with Dean in a quiet house. I was refreshed, as refreshed as I could be sence I have a small touch of the flu, and was ready to take on the day…or at least the kids.

I made Hoe Cakes and toast this morning thinking the kids would be happy to see a hot breakfast sence it’s been a few days of cold cereal. Some where very happy, some were…not.  At this point in the morning I was reminded how 1, and only 1 child can set the pace for everyone. ~sigh~ That’s another blog in itself.

To make a long story short, 1 of my blessings got to enjoy his breakfast by himself after the rest of us finished ours.  Then he got to clean the dining room. I know, I’m a mean mom. 😀

So, back to the Hoe Cakes. They are very yummy, at least I think so. Who would have thought that fried cornmeal mush with a little pancake syrup could taste so good. They have a familiar undertone that I finally placed this morning. Caption Crunch! I kid you not. Now, the cake itself doesn’t have much flavor, but with just a little bit of syrup, it’s wonderful.

Here’s the recipe if you want to give it a try. It’s doesn’t take long at all.

Hoe Cakes

What you need: 2 cups boiling water, 2 cups cornmeal, (I use yellow), 1 tsp salt and oil for frying. Mix the salt and cornmeal in a small heat-resistant bowl. Then pour the boiling water in and mix until well blended, it will be thick.  Form into little cakes, I like to use a 1/4 cup.  In a small frying pan, heat oil, enough to cover the bottom of the pan. When hot, put the cakes in and fry until slightly darkened.Depending on the size of the pan, you can fry 2 to 4 at a time. They will not become a golden brown like most things. The darker they are, the crunchier the outside of the cake will be. (About a minute or so.) Then flip and do the same.  This makes about 12 to 15…I think. I make a double batch and I forgot to count them 😀

As for the weekly menu, I’m working on that. I’m changing things around a bit so I will post one next weekend.

Leave a Reply

