God Comes First

God Comes First

DISCLAIMER: These are our thoughts and beliefs about home schooling and our understanding of what the bible says about it. We understand that everyone’s beliefs are different and many may not agree with us, and that’s ok. We are not pointing fingers, judging, looking down on people, or criticizing others who do not home school or disagree with us. If you agree OR disagree, please leave a respectful comment. I would love to hear other people’s point of view.

When we first starting home schooling, God was not at the fore front of our decision. Dean didn’t care for the school system, plus we had a not so great experience with Mara in the center based Headstart program. (home based has been wonderful for us though.) It opened our eyes with not knowing what the kids were being taught and the influence that other kids have.

I remember Mara coming home one day singing a raunchy hoochy song. She told me one of her friends taught her. I couldn’t believe that other parents let their kids listen to such trash at 4/5 years old. She was also taught by one if her friends how to french kiss the bus window! I was floored. This was not the “socialization” I wanted for my kids. And that was just the tip of the iceberg.

I understand they need to hang out with kids their own age once in a while but it can be supervised…by me 😀 Park dates, home schooling sports, church, friends coming over, and family gatherings are a few of the things that give my kids that chance.

If you are wanting to teach your kids to learn to be adults, they need to be around other adults. They mimic what they see. If they are only around kids their own age, they will only act like them. Now I’m not saying that if they only hang out with kids their age they will be dumb, snotty, and never grow. But it does slow down that process….a lot. I have seen this in my own kids. Their attitude becomes terrible and I have to spend the next few days correcting their behavior. On the plus side of this, it gives them the chance to see the difference in kids their own age versus what we are trying to teach them, and they have.

At this point we started looking at other school options other than the local public schools. Dean had done some research on why Christians home school to see if it would be right for us. I reluctantly listened to the information and even though I was stubborn and wanting to hold my ground, it all made sense. It wasn’t long after that I was on board.

One of the first things that struck me was when it was pointed out that God gave us our children to raise, not a school system. We will have to give an account for them before God, even their education. Children are an inheritance given by God. Who did God give children to? The parents or the local school board? Who is to do the instructing? Deuteronomy 6:7 says, “You shall teach them diligently to your sons and shall talk of them when you sit in your house and when you walk by the way and when you lie down and when you rise up.”

This is not a description of public school (or even church or private school). This is a description of a home school setting. This is not describing today’s culture of 30 to 40 kids crammed into a small room with a stranger trying to maintain order and teach everything the kids are to learn in that class.

Because Dean is the spiritual leader in the home, it is his place to teach them about God. We want their education to be integrated with their belief in God, not the world.

One of our biggest reasons for deciding to homeschool is that the government has been slowly pulling God out of schools. Over the years public schools have been succeeding in removing the Bible and are becoming more and more openly hostile toward Christianity while expecting Christians to be tolerant to all the other world religions. One example that comes to mind is a New Jersey boy who dressed up as Jesus for Halloween was sent home by the principal because his costume was deemed “too offensive.” It’s frustrating to see that the handful of kids who are attempting to make a difference are often ridiculed and told to be happy that they can, at the very least, go outside and hold hands around a flag pole once a year to pray.

Well, this is what I have for you on this topic. Hope you enjoyed the read. I look forward to any comments and questions you may have.

2 thoughts on “God Comes First

  1. Thank you for sharing this, Elizabeth! I had been wanting to ask you about how you got started with homeschooling and ran across this post today.

    Because I’m staying at home now, the next question I usually get asked is “Are you going to homeschool?”. I usually play it off and say that we have a few years to decide that still, but I’ve felt convicted about standing my ground. We DO want to homeschool because of the reasons you’ve mentioned above with Deuteronomy 6:7 and public schools becoming increasingly anti-Christian. God has placed it on both mine and Leo’s hearts to homeschool and I’m thankful I have you to ask all kinds of question when that time comes 🙂

    • I would be honored to help you in any way along your homeschooling journey when the time comes 🙂 I’m excited to hear you have made a decision already! You are right, you do have some time to prepare but it’s nice to know what you are going to do. This gives others time to deal with your decision. haha I know that may sound silly but family is normally the last to get on board with homeschooling and it can be very discouraging. When we first started we knew NOONE else that was homeschooling. My family was not thrilled and gave all the normally reasons as to way we shouldn’t. I felt that they were just waiting for us to fail so they could say, “I told you so.” Thankfully they are all glad we homeschool now. In fact, my mom says now that she is proud that we homeschool and brags about it. 🙂 Stand your ground and try not to let others get you down or make you question your decision. You will be faced with those people at some point but you will do fine handling them. Hugs!

Leave a Reply

