Summer 2010

I was planning on posting on my “clean” house but decided to post on our life in the country instead.  We had such a great time last night that I thought it would be fun to share on the evening instead.

Yesterday after church we went to the park.  After the kids had ran around like crazy for a while, we went for a walk down by the water and found a ton of clams.  We picked out some of the nicer looking ones and brought them home with us.  When we got home we decided to have a camp fire and have supper outside.  While we were getting the fire going and supper done I did a Jelly Bean tasting “party” with the kids.  They got to try all the gourmet flavors.  AKA, the icky ones 🙂  They didn’t like all the flavors but they loved eating all the jelly beans. Candy is candy, no matter how icky it is!

At the end of the day we opened some of the clams and talked about what they were, how and what they eat, and the parts of the clam.  It was a great day considering we had none of it planned but going to church.

I’ve also discovered I talk more though pictures.  Hope you don’t mind.

Tizzy discovering leaves.
Tizzy discovering leaves.
Me trying to split wood.
Me trying to split wood.
It didn't take long.
It didn’t take long 🙂
Kurtis having fun with the hatchet.
Kurtis having fun with the hatchet. Funny, it looks like he maybe was going after the cat.  Run Toby, run!
Mara and me
Mara and me
Lovin' my Marabell.
Lovin’ my Marabell.
Tirzah's first hatchet.
Tirzah’s first hatchet.
Wyatt and Emry hanging out.
Wyatt and Emry hanging out.
Playing with fire.
Playing with fire.
Daddy helping Kurtis with his sleeves so he can chop wood.
Daddy helping Kurtis with his sleeves so he can chop wood.
Emry chopping wood for the fire.
Emry chopping wood for the fire.
Just me
Just me
Tirzah and Wyatt hanging out.
Tirzah and Wyatt hanging out.
Mara working on the fire wood.
Mara working on the fire wood.
Daddy's little helper.
Daddy’s little helper.
Garrett taking a break from his hard work.
Garrett taking a break from his hard work.
It amazes me how well this boy can word an ax!
It amazes me how well this boy can word an ax!
Garrett still working.  I think he worked on this piece for half an hour!
Garrett still working. I think he worked on this piece for half an hour!
I love this picture.  He's a natual!
I love this picture. He’s a natural!
Easter supper :-)
Easter supper 🙂
Adrian looks so creapy in the picture.  It reminds me of a crazy person in a slasher movie!
Adrian looks so creepy in the picture. It reminds me of a crazy person in a slasher movie!
Adrian looking not so creapy :-)
Adrian looking not so creepy 🙂
Emry gnawing on a chicken bone.
Emry gnawing on a chicken bone.
Just hanging out.
Just hanging out.
Mara getting the ax stuck in the wood.
Kurtis watching Mara.
Tirzah striking a pose.
Tirzah striking a pose.

So there you have it, a normal weekend evening at our place. I love summer!

Leave a Reply

